Philadelphia Underage DUI Attorney
Facing Underage DUI in Philadelphia?
At The Nenner Law Firm, we understand the importance of safeguarding the futures of our youth and providing them with the guidance they need during these challenging times. Our experienced attorneys are dedicated to defending the rights of those facing underage DUI charges, utilizing their knowledge and expertise to pursue the most favorable outcomes possible. If you or a loved one are dealing with the legal implications of an underage DUI, we are here to provide you with compassionate support and skillful representation.
Underage DUI Laws & Penalties in Pennsylvania
In Pennsylvania, it is illegal for individuals under the age of 21 to operate a motor vehicle with any amount of alcohol in their system. This is known as a zero-tolerance policy.
The legal drinking age in Pennsylvania, as in the rest of the United States, is 21. If a driver under the age of 21 is found to have any measurable amount of alcohol in their system, they can be charged with an underage DUI
The tiered penalty system for minors convicted of DUI in Pennsylvania consists of three levels, often referred to as tiers: Tier 1, Tier 2, and Tier 3. The penalties become more severe as you move up the tiers.
Here's a general overview of the tiered penalty system:
- Tier 1: This is the least severe tier, applicable for individuals who have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) between 0.02% and less than 0.08%. If a minor is convicted of DUI in this tier, they may face the following penalties:
- A driver's license suspension for a period of 12 months.
- Completion of an Alcohol Highway Safety School program.
- Required attendance at a Department of Health-approved alcohol and drug education program.
- A fine of up to $500.
- Tier 2: This tier applies to minors with a BAC of 0.08% to less than 0.10% or those who refuse to submit to chemical testing. The penalties for a Tier 2 conviction can include:
- A driver's license suspension for 12 months.
- Participation in an Alcohol Highway Safety School program.
- Completion of an alcohol and drug education program approved by the Department of Health.
- Potential installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) for a period of six months to one year.
- A fine of up to $1,000.
- Possible imprisonment of up to six months.
- Tier 3: This tier applies to minors with a BAC of 0.10% or higher or those who have any amount of a controlled substance in their system. The penalties for a Tier 3 conviction are more severe and can include:
- A driver's license suspension for 18 months.
- Mandatory participation in an Alcohol Highway Safety School program.
- Completion of a Department of Health-approved alcohol and drug education program.
- Potential installation of an IID for one year.
- A fine of up to $2,500.
- Possible imprisonment of up to two years.
Have You Been Charged with a Juvenile DUI in Pennsylvania?
If you have been charged with a juvenile DUI, it is important to speak with a Philadelphia juvenile DUI lawyer as soon as possible. The sooner you work with an experienced criminal defense attorney, the better your chances of avoiding a conviction.
If you are facing an underage DUI charge, contact The Nenner Law Firm to schedule a free consultation with our Philadelphia underage DUI attorney.
Services Offered in Spanish
Committed to Helping Our Clients
Record of Success
37+ Years of Experience